soil and soul

Wind.
Windy outside.
Friday night in Galway, post G & T, wind whistling down the chimney.
I don’t blog much these days. A lot of creative energy has been hurled into making maps and researching Irish place names, or exploring countries online. I’ve been obsessed and working hard. I don’t feel I take much time to reflect much on my life and the direction it’s been going. Perhaps there is a reason for that?
Perhaps I’m terrified to stop and assess because I’ll feel like I’ve not made a success of my life or something. Also I’m more scared of being vulnerable because I’m more aware of the inter-connections and ties that bind us. I might want to be honest but what if my honesty is insensitive and hurtful to others?
But perhaps I’ve swung too far and bottling stuff up or keeping my head buried in art work is hurtful to me.
There is no doubt to me that technology has been detrimental to certain aspects of my life. It’s gotten to the stage where being connected to the internet almost seems like a basic human right. It’s not but sometimes it seems that way.

Anyway, perhaps I need to spend more time reflecting on my life. On my soul.

And to get back to the garden and dig my deep beds for some vegetables. Or herbs. The snails don’t seem to want to eat my flat leaf parsley so I will grow lots this year.Enough for my favourite pasta tomato sauce recipe. Enough for my potato soup. Enough to make ‘pesto’ and Middle Eastern recipe that I’ve forgotten the name off but needs loads of parsley.

And to plant some basil if I can. I’ll freeze the leaves so it can go in my other favourite tomato sauce.

I need to get back to the soil and my soul again. I feel so jaded this weather.IMG_2093

Leave a Reply

