I just want to be friends with you

I’m awake now during moon time. I’ve investigated the slightly red star to the south and have nailed it down as Mars.So not a star but a planet.
I’ve been sleeping much better since moving down to Galway but every once in a while I get the midnight munchies and the mind is restless. Then a blog might appear.

So what is my restless mind thinking about at the moment?

I’m thinking about how I don’t want to compete. I want to co-operate and build, to encourage and live gently.
I say this on restless nights. We live in an economic system that is designed to be competitive and push us all the time. People, companies, brands, pubs, shops, websites compete for our attention and devotion, for our money.

It pushes us so that we don’t have to time to realise that life doesn’t have to be this way. Society doesn’t have to be this way.

The words of Bob Dylan track that I had somehow never heard before caught me off guard today. I just want to be friendly with you baby!*

‘I ain’t lookin’ to compete with you
Beat or cheat or mistreat you
Simplify you, classify you
Deny, defy or crucify you
All I really want to do
Is, baby, be friends with you

No, and I ain’t lookin’ to fight with you
Frighten you or tighten you
Drag you down or drain you down
Chain you down or bring you down
All I really want to do
Is, baby, be friends with you’

 

 

Leave a Reply

