Pablo Picasso quotes

Portrait_de_Picasso,_1908

“Bad artists copy. Good artists steal.”

“If I paint a wild horse, you might not see the horse… but surely you will see the wildness!”

“There is no abstract art. You must always start with something. Afterward you can remove all traces of reality.”

“Painting is just another way of keeping a diary.”

“The world doesn’t make sense, so why should I paint pictures that do?”

“It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child.”

“The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”

“If I don’t have red, I use blue.”

“I paint objects as I think them, not as I see them.”

“I begin with an idea and then it becomes something else. ”

“When art critics get together they talk about Form and Structure and Meaning. When artists get together they talk about where you can buy cheap turpentine.”

“Everything is a miracle. It is a miracle that one does not melt in one’s bath.”

“Anything new, anything worth doing, can’t be recognized.”

“Painting is stronger than me, it makes me do it’s bidding.”

“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”

“Art is a lie that reveals the truth.”

Leave a Reply

