Dogs-xology

WP_20141103_001

We’ve had a dog stay with us the past week and a bit. She is sitting over on yonder seat, licking her lips, curled up ready for a dog nap like a fox. It’s the first time I’ve been around an animal for an extended period of time. As a result I feel closer to creatures. Literally closer. She climbs up on my lap or wants her tummy scratched or whatever is going on whenever they lay on the kitchen floor with their feet in the air.
We’re just back from a walk down to Rusheen Bay which is only a few minutes down the road and hidden away from the road and housing estates. People don’t seem to go down there that much. I don’t go down there that often either but each time I do I say to myself ‘I need to come down here more often’. It is a peaceful place.

There were two seals lazing on rocks when I went down.

Maybe Suki and the seals have the right idea.Laze about this weather if you can, don’t be over exerting yourself unless necessary especially with the advent of advent.

There were also a couple of ducks that didn’t look like mallard, perhaps a widgeon?

Walking home a few nights this week the stars have been prominent.  When I lived up in Lisburn the The Plough was the dominant constellation but down here it seems to be Orion. The big sky over Galway Bay at night makes him seem epic and huge.

I’ve been feeling very attached to the west coast this week. I love it I  get freaked out about the idea of having to leave it sometime. It might turn sour, who knows how things pan out?But at the moment it’s roots are sinking into my soul. On Monday I gathered up some bags of seaweed for fertilizing the garden while H and the dog walked on the beach. We’re looking for 5.5kg per sq metre or something so a few more trips to the beach will be required before the spring.

The words of ‘The Doxology’ have been ringing in my ears a little this week. Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow! Praise Him all creatures here below! Praise him above you heavenly host! Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost!

It’s hard to make friends, loneliness and isolation are still a struggle but at least there is beauty and ocean, seals lazing on rocks and redshank pacing the shore.I don’t deserve the grace or blessings of this place but I’m thankful for it. I’ve so much to learn about grace.

The Peace of Wild Things

By Wendell Berry

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
Leave a Reply

