the Word

If I am being honest then I am wrestling with what I think about  the Bible and phrases like ‘The Word of God’.

I just don’t know if I have the same conviction that the Bible is the fully authoritative Word of God that many  believers in the reformed, evangelical, Presbyterian church I am most familiar with seem to have.

Or to put it another way, I am just not  sure why Jesus is called ‘the Word’ in John’s Gospel while we also call the Bible ‘The Word of God’. Is Jesus the ultimate Word of God or is the Bible?  Or when a minister is preaching the Word what does that mean? What do courses like ‘Handling the Word’ mean? Is it more important to know how to ‘handle’ Jesus or the Bible? Are they the same thing?

The first time I remember wondering about this sort of thing was at a youth work conference about 10yrs ago called ‘The Bible Centred Youth Worker’.
There was and still is something about that title that rankled with me because it seemed to be focusing on the wrong thing. In my mind it seemed to make much more sense for it to be called ‘The Christ Centred Youth Worker’ or something like that because it was all about Jesus.
Was the ultimate purpose of  a church youth worker to be ‘centred’ on Christ or on the Bible? Was my goal to get young people excited about the Bible or Jesus?

I got thinking about it a few weeks ago when picking up a book called ‘Discovering Biblical Equality’ in a 2nd hand book shop in Cork. I was excited to read it but something about the first line in the preface put me off:-

‘Discovering Biblical Equality is the result of a collaborative effort of evangelical scholars united here by two convictions: that the Bible is the fully inspired and authoritative Word of God..’

I am just not sure that I am on the same page when it comes to what I believe about the Bible.
Is Jesus the fully inspired and authoritative Word of God or is it the Bible? A hymn I’ve sung many times says:-

‘You’re the Word of God the Father, since before the world began’.

Is the Bible the same as Jesus? Could we sing that hymn about the Bible? It’s the interchangeability of the phrase that confuses me.

I was wondering again last night while flicking through a  PCI ‘What is a church member?’ leaflet. According to it:-

‘ Believers trust Jesus Christ with their lives. This involves believing truths about him and having a personal relationship with him. The Bible, which Christians believe is God’s Word…’

Well that is just it, I am not sure that I believe that The Bible is God’s Word – so does that mean that I’m not a Christian? I believe that Jesus is the Word but I’m not sure that I have to believe that the Bible is God’s Word to be a Christian.  Do I have to confess the Bible is Lord to be a Christian?
There seems to be a reverence and respect for the physical book of the Bible that goes above Christ. It seems to be more important to understand scripture than Jesus. There is that bit where Jesus tells the Jewish leaders:-

’39 You study[c] the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me to have life.

 

Another thing that I often wonder about is that verse that always got wheeled out in discussions about the Bible from Paul’s letter to Timothy:-
‘All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,

The way that I see that verse is that Paul can only have been talking about the Old Testament as ‘all scripture’ as the 66 book of the bible didn’t exist.  So why was it always quoted at me as if Paul was referring the 66 books of the Bible? Should we not have heard a lot more sermons and talks on the Prophets for example if all scripture was God – breathed and Paul can only have been talking about the Old Testament?

 

 
I

2 thoughts on “the Word”

  1. Thanks Dave. Words can have multilayered meanings none of which take away from their truth- and that includes the word ‘Word’! When used of Jesus it is one of many metaphors of him. It is still valid to refer to other things as the word of God (ie the prophetic voices) just as it’s also valid to talk about OT Israel as the son or child of God, as the Scripture does, or David as God’s anointed even though Messiah owned that term. Jesus and Scripture function in different ways to declare God’s word to us. We also need to remember that it is through the Bible we encounter Jesus. How else do we know about his character, his love, his works, his teachings? The word is the channel through which we discover the Word. Bibliolatry, which is what you refer to, is when reverence for a text is in isolation from the person revealed in the text; when revering the text actually blinds us to and takes us away from the person. IN contrast we are encouraged to honour the scriptures as God’s word precisely because the testify to Him. Jesus believed the OT Scriptures to be the word of God, and he also believed his own words to be the word of God, he also said God the Hoy Spirit would lead the apostles into all truth. It’s hard not to come to the conclusion that the last thing Jesus would want would be for us to drive a wedge between Him and his words, or Him and the testimony to him. Anyway I’m in your neck of the woods on Wednesday and would probably love a break from students some time….

    1. Thanks M, I guess that I just think that we (or the Christianity I am most familiar with) treat the Bible like the 4th Person of the Trinity or unseen boss. Like if someone preaches a sermon about Jesus and tries to explain the Gospel and that we should accept Jesus as Lord and put our faith in him. Yet the minister doesn’t even bother to explain anything about the Bible or why we should trust it. He explains about Christ but doesn’t explain about the Bible. Or something like that.
      My parents have decided to come down to Galway on Wed for the 1st time in over a year so I’m going to have to look after them unfortunately. They might be in trauma after driving past Fivemiletown and on!

Leave a Reply

