‘I will have nothing to with a bomb’

I have started a project over here. It is sort of my version of the the Large Hadron Collider.

The aim is to try and do a drawing, image, doodle (any drawing even if it’s crap) for some event or person born on that particular day and then post it.
That is the goal, but I’m probably more interested in the by-products that come out, sort of like the way that useful by products have come from trying to find sub atomic particles or putting man on the moon. Apparently we have velcro because of NASA and we have the www because of CERN.

So far I’ve learned how to do a website and a little about Jean Harlow and today I’ve discovered about Lise Meitner, a lady I had never heard about until this afternoon but is probably one of the most influential women of the 20th century.

It seemed like a good day to note her name with it being International Women’s Day tomorrow.

The only reason I found out about her is because tomorrow (8th March) is one of those days in which nothing exciting seems to have ever happened in world history and I was stuck with some random German man called Otto Hahn for a birthday.

Reading a little about Otto Hahn I discovered that he discovered the fission of uranium and got awarded the Nobel Prize.  It seems though that it was a joint effort with a Lise Meitner, but no Nobel Prize for her for whatever reason.
In 1943 she was asked to join The Manhatten Project but answered ‘I will have nothing to do with a bomb!’. The thing is that although she didn’t know at the time she did contribute to the bomb.

Leave a Reply

