mop

Image

I hate almost everything about this particular household task. Not almost anything as a matter of fact, but absolutely everything.

I hate the way that the mop flops about on the floor. It is too limp to scrub bits of dirt that are stuck to the floor and doesn’t lift the light bits of dirt that the brush couldn’t lift.
I hate the way that you clean the floor and it gets dirty again immediately, not through being messy but because you have just gone outside to the bin and it has been raining outside.
I hate the feel of it in my hand.
I hate the way when you mop in the gloom you can’t see the dirt and then when it is bright you can see the dirt you missed.

2 thoughts on “mop”

  1. Wholeheartedly agree. I loathe mops. They always have that grey tinge and mingy smell which makes me suspect they are contributing more to the dirt than alleviating it. My solution is not to clean my floors, the theory being that our sock soles are surely doing their part? A rare once over with a cloth soothes the conscience, but it does little in the face of 3 (5?) mucky pups. Making my peace with the filth.

    1. next morning I tried to pull one of my sleeves down, missed and knocked over a full mug of coffee which spilled on to the floor and resulted in the mop appearing again…looking to install a sawdust floor like they have in stables or barns

Leave a Reply

