‘I have been too deeply hurt’

Well I’ve just finished Lord of the Rings and I feel sad.
Not sad because I’ve reached the end of the book (which I was ready to end), sad because of the scars Frodo carries around with him.

‘I have been too deeply hurt, Sam.I tried to save the Shire, and it has been saved, but not for me. It must often be so, Sam, when things are in danger: some one has to give them up, lose them, so that others may keep them.’

Then there is Sam in silence watching his friend sail away after all they’ve been together (carrying him up Mt Doom!) before returning home to Shire a few lines later to carry on with life and his new family. And the book ends

I am not sure why I feel sad knowing that the Ring has been destroyed and Sauron defeated.
If I’m honest I wanted Tolkien to end the story after the ring had been destroyed and a big party held in Minas Tirith. I wanted the ‘happily ever after’ ending and I don’t think Tolkien supplied it.

On the whole I enjoyed re-reading Lord of the Rings but there is something about the storyline that makes me feel a little empty or unsatisfied, a feeling which I don’t get from a book I’ve really enjoyed. Even though Sauron is overthrown there is still a sense that sadness and wounds haven’t been healed, friends have had to say goodbye and that makes me a little depressed at the end despite all the good stuff that happened before. I just wanted everything to be alright at the end.

Leave a Reply

