I had a Dream As Well

I had a dream

I’m running the marathon
In some city I don’t recognize
I’m trying to count all the other runners
In the marathon

Strangely I’m not  getting tired
But I am getting frustrated
Because counting  takes it out of me
I’m just really forgetful
I bound from runner to runner
Looking at the number pinned to each vest
Looking into their eyes  to make sure that I haven’t counted them already
I make a mental note
Then….I can’t remember…
Did I count her already?
Have I counted you twice?
So I bound back to the start
And  start over again
Unsure of myself
I want to be certain of the numbers

Leave a Reply

