trying to explain big things

Sometimes I find it really hard to explain things clearly which can then sometimes lead me to doubt if I really believe that thing.

For whatever reason I’ve always believed that if I really believed something was true I should be able to explain it clearly and concisely.

An example would be if someone came up to me in the street and asked me to explain why I believed Christianity was true.
If some did that I would be tongue tied and fumble about,  be incoherent and stumble along. Then afterwards I’d be beating myself up for being unsure about my faith.The same for other big things I might believe. The stumbling along always seemed to me to be a weakness.

But reading a little bit of G.K. Chesterton yesterday morning in Galway I realised that the stumbling and stuttering might not be a case of being unsure but a case of being completely overwhelmed by the complexity of it all. And the complexity of it all is what convinces you that is completely true.

‘The whole case for civilization is that the case for it is complex. It has done so many things. But that very multiplicity of proof which ought to make reply overwhelming makes reply impossible.

There is, therefore, about all complete conviction a kind of huge helplessness. The belief is so big that it takes a long time to get it into action. And this hesitation chiefly arises, oddly enough, from an indifference about where one should begin. All roads lead to Rome; which is one reason why many people never get there.

G.K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy

Leave a Reply

