walnut and radish leaf pesto

I’d been spending the last few weeks waiting for my radishes to mature when suddenly the thought hit me
‘Dave, you don’t actually like radishes do you?

Also I had planted them very thickly which meant that few had matured. So what was I to do?

Try making some radish pesto, that’s what.

I took about 50g of walnuts from the cupboard and toasted them,whizzed that with half a clove of garlic (I’ve gone off garlic a bit this week after a bout of sickness last week), blitzed that with about 35g of radish leaf, added some extra virgin olive oil in a stream to get a nice consistency, stirred in some Parmesan-esque Sainsbury Basics cheese, a bit of lemon juice and salt and pepper for seasoning.

I had it with pasta and it didn’t taste as bad as I first feared. It was definitely better than eating the radish itself.

Leave a Reply

