doodle-nt day 1 – Facebook

So I’m going to put my Facebook addiction to bed for at least 40 days and try to use the time for drawing/doodling instead, just experimenting and seeing what comes up. H___ gets a bit frustrated sometimes that I can’t do some nice paintings and sell them but I don’t have the skills and wouldn’t even know where to start.

I find a bigger problem is that the way I see the world isn’t something you would necessarily want to hang on your wall. Sure we all dream of sunsets on the west coast of Ireland but my daily experience is computer addiction, Lisburn on cloudy mornings, damp hedgerows looming over me on the tow path. What I’m trying to say (without offending the good people who call this place home) is that I don’t find this place beautiful and as such it makes it hard to be inspired.

Partly I blame computers and the internet. They might be tools or objects made by men but the amount of information and visual data that pours from the screen seems to have dulled my sight.

My imagination has been captured by the computer and I don’t like it!


Leave a Reply

