what I’m reading/been reading – boring

I haven’t been blogging much the past month, but reading much and still drawing away. Currently I’m in the middle of ‘The Shock Doctrine‘ by Naomi Klein, a book which has surprised me in that I’m racing through it. I thought it was going to be a slog, but no.
Another book that I finished recently was ‘Living Toward a Vision‘ by Walter Brueggemann. I read one of his other books (The Land) and had the same feeling afterwards. Poetic, but a bit too poetic almost. Don’t get me wrong, poetic is like a thousand times better than the usual scientific writing style of theologians but still. It left me feeling satisfied but strangely empty. Perhaps I’m talking out of my ass about that.

Finally, Colossians Remixed has easily been the best book about a Bible book that I’ve read, but left me frustrated because why can’t there be more books like that about Bible books? I’d love to read something about Jeremiah or Revelation, but don’t want to know every detail about the Greek culture (insert reference) and (cross reference) and this is why we should pray (C.H. Spurgeon quote). Colossians Remixed performed the minor miracle of giving me hope that a book about one of Paul’s letters could be well written. A miracle!

Leave a Reply

