Barbour Mill

Passed the old linen thread factory at Hilden. The Barbours Mill was once the largest in the world with over 2000 people working there just over 100yrs ago.
It looks like a proper factory you would see in a LS Lowry painting.
It looks like the sort of factory Bruce Springsteen would write about closing down.
Its derelict now. You pass by, its glory has faded. There is talk in the news about a £100million plan to do it up into houses and flats and offices.

Have been listening to the opening lyrics of a Fionn Regan song ‘Snowy Atlas Mountains’ when thinking about the factory;

‘We came down by the factory
Industrial yarns were my father did work’

Actually, I can’t make out if its yarns or yards. Still both work for me – but maybe I should check. So I’m a gonna.

Leave a comment